OUR EXHIBITS

MCARLM offers a variety of engaging and immersive exhibits to fuel our visitors' curiosity and love for history

LA GLORIA SCHOOL HOUSE

HomePgSchool_edited_edited.jpg

Originally located 5 miles southeast of Gonzales, La Gloria School was first organized in 1873 and was closed in the early 1960s. It remained vacant until it was moved to San Lorenzo Park in 1980 to become part of the museum complex.

SPRECKELS FARMHOUSE

mcarlm_spreckels_house_exterior_edited.jpg

Built in 1898, the Spreckels House was originally located on the Spreckels Sugar Company's Ranch Number One. The Spreckels House was moved to San Lorenzo Regional Park in 1980.

KING CITY TRAIN DEPOT

33912544178_267a419c7c_b_edited.jpg

Swiftly after its construction in 1903, King's Station became South County's commercial center. The depot remained in operation until the 1980s when many of the Southern Pacific depots were sold or destroyed. On June 2, 1989, the depot was moved to its present location and the restoration began.

OLSON BLACKSMITH SHOP

BlksmShop.jpg

The Olson blacksmith is a typical example of a farmer’s shop during the first quarter of the 20th century. Originally located on the Olson Ranch at Paraiso Springs, the entire shop was moved to San Lorenzo Park in 1981. It was installed and returned to working condition by the King City Lions Club. Visit by appointment only.

IRRIGATION MUSEUM

2723244_orig.jpg

The History of Irrigation Museum has an array interactive exhibits to engage visitors as they learn about the different evolutions of irrigation. The museum also features a 25-seat theater which plays an irrigation film. The museum is only available for visits through booking a tour in advance.

TRACTOR SHED

images (2)_edited.jpg

Tractors are the foundation of MCARLM; preserving antique agricultural equipment has been our mission since the beginning. A visit to our tractor shed requires an in-advance booking!